i am orange.

Orange is a color of fascination, enthusiasm and passion; today, I am orange. Everything that drives this thesis is fascination and passion. I couldn’t be more excited that I get to work on something that means so much to me.

I am hoping that this post will not be long at all. In brief, and in this current phase of my thesis process, I am looking to do an autoethnography where I look at my own creative process. I would like to consider ideas surrounding how race and gender affects one’s process. Further, I want to look into the ways one can find/claim voice in oppressive social context. Can I touch on the ways new media tools have affected and/or enhanced this process (honing in on electronic literature there and the digital tools and spaces that I use to create my e-lit piece)? Sure, I suppose. There is a lot going on and a lot to consider. Moving along, with the paper, I am going to (as I have just stated) curate an electronic piece to compliment what I am doing (probably incorporating digital poetry).

The aforementioned is the best way that I know how to sum up my thesis in so few words. As soon as I update this post, I will link out to my one page google document where I explain my thoughts and ideas in more detail… riiight around here –> one pager. Right now, I want to get my hands on anything and everything that I possibly can to read and explore. One thing a colleague of mine said to me today was:

“Some students don’t understand that when they are given an assignment, and asked to add to a conversation, they are adding to a tradition.”

One cannot add to a tradition if one does not immerse onseself in what has come before. That is where I am. I am trying to get familiar with ideas, concepts, research, articles, books, poetry etc. that has anything to do at all with what I am touching on.

I have been directed toward articles by Chuck Stone, Andrea Benton, C, Tsehloane Keto, Sharon Harley and Rosalyn Terborg-Penn, Vershawn Young, and Jacqueline Jones Royster. So, if I were close off with a question, I would ask: Does anyone have any connections to or thoughts about writers, authors, scholars, poets that I can either talk to or look into for my work?

What I am looking for is a starting point. If I do not ground myself and touch down on something to then expand from there, everything is going to seem too vast and overwhelming. I was stuck for a while in trying to find more sources or things to help inspire me or even provoke thought. In addition, what are some other cool ways of reflecting aside from journaling, recording myself speak (audio), recording a video of myself talking? During my last class, Barbara Ganley threw out the possibility of explaining my thesis as if it was a color or a type of weather etc. (hence the reason why I am orange today).

So, I am off to do some reading, but I hope that this was helpful to understand where I am right now. Things are starting to take shape and I’m not quite there yet, but I can almost touch it. I can feel myself getting closer to solidifying what I am doing, what angle/perspective I am taking, and what all of this means for me and to me.

giphy

4 thoughts on “i am orange.

  1. Wonderful ideas, Richonda – many thanks for blogging and sharing. I’ve read your one-page description also. You already demonstrate the capacity for reflective writing, so you’re on your way! I see you’re now trying to hone in on a manageable-sized area to explore for your thesis. I’m sure today’s session will be an opportunity to get some good feedback on that. Looking forward to it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Richonda – sorry I couldn’t join you last week, or was it the week before–golly, I’m unstuck in time, I suppose. At any rate, I’m fascinated by the idea of making the narration of process the subject of your work. It is a potentially unmanageable project, indeed, but there are some interesting frames that come to mind that may (or may not) be helpful.

    A famous fictional version of what you’re doing is the novel Tristram Shandy. It’s funny, bawdy, poignant, and mind-expanding. It even has Three Famous Pages: one black (to mourn a death), one “marbled” (i.e., mottled, for reasons I can’t recall right now), and one blank (where the author, Mr. Tristram Shandy, asks the reader to supply a description). It’s a crazy book and it may or may not be to your liking, but it does something like what you’re describing, and in a way that asks the reader to participate.

    Another conceptual framework you might consider is that of recursion. I’ll leave that investigation to you. Suffice it to say that it’s a very very cool concept. 🙂

    Good luck with your project!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for checking in and getting back to me with some comments. I truly appreciate everything here. I am definitely going to check out Tristram Shandy. I am definitely intrigued. It is funny to be reading this now, as the idea of recursion has come up or me in various conversations this week. I am excited to keep exploring!

      Like

Leave a Reply

